Manchester bus drivers ramp up pay strike

First Manchester bus drivers Strike
Spread the love

The drivers, members of Unite, will no longer accept low rates of pay for the highly skilled, demanding and responsible role they undertake. Their basic wage is £12.40 an hour. A major sticking point in the dispute is First Manchester’s refusal to honour the anniversary date of 1 August (when the pay increase for 2021 was due to come into effect) and to backdate the pay increase from this date.

First Manchester is part of First Group the second largest bus operator in the UK. 

The company made an operating profit of £224.3 million in 2021 and has accessible cash reserves of £776 million.

There have already been four days of strike action with more planned next week.

In effect it means the 300-plus drivers involved will be on strike for three days a week next month.

The new dates announced are Monday 31 January followed by Tuesday 1 February, Friday 4 February, Monday 7 February to Wednesday 9 February, Tuesday 15 February, Wednesday and Thursday 17, and 18 February, Monday 21 February, Wednesday 23 February and Friday 25 February.

There are already strikes announced for Monday 24 January and Wednesday 26 January.